press room

Press Release


Contact Edgar Ruiz, director
The Council of State Governments West
(916) 501-5070
Dec. 5, 2011


Wyoming's Berger Commences Chairmanship of CSG West


SACRAMENTO, Calif.—Wyoming Rep. Rosie Berger assumed chairmanship of The Council of State Governments West (CSG-WEST) Dec. 1. She previously served as chair-elect and vice chair of the organization; she also is a graduate of its Western Legislative Academy.
Berger’s experience, dedication and leadership with CSG-WEST will not only help maintain the organization’s continued success in serving Western state legislatures, but it will also propel innovative approaches that enhance the capacity and policy opportunities of Western lawmakers to meet the challenges of today and tomorrow.
Among her duties as chair, Berger will preside over the CSG-WEST 65th Annual Meeting in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada July 20-23, 2012. The Annual Meeting will provide an opportunity for CSG-WEST policy committees to facilitate a robust dialogue and exchange of information on critical issues facing the West. Moreover, the Annual Meeting will enable strategic sessions on the future of North America that build on the organization’s ongoing efforts to bridge greater collaboration among state lawmakers and provincial leaders of Canada, Mexico and the United States.
“I am excited about this opportunity and look forward to working with the new executive director and the staff of CSG-WEST during my chairmanship,” said Berger. “I also look forward to working with my fellow officers, Executive Committee members and other Western leaders to provide programming opportunities that enrich our members.”
In her new role as chair of CSG-WEST, Berger will be supported by her fellow officers who play a pivotal leadership role for the organization, including Nevada Assemblyman Kelvin Atkinson, chair-elect; Alaska Rep. Craig Johnson, vice chair; and Hawaii Rep. Marcus Oshiro, immediate past chair.
For additional information, please contact Edgar Ruiz, CSG-WEST executive director, at (916) 501-5070 or via email.



The Council of State Governments-WEST (CSG-WEST) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that provides a platform for regional cooperation and the exchange of information among legislators of the 13 Western states. CSG-WEST also strengthens legislative institutions through professional training opportunities and policy committees focused on issues affecting the West.
Member states include Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming. CSG-WEST also benefits from its associate memberships with the Canadian provinces of Alberta and British Columbia and the Pacific islands of American Samoa, the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands and Guam, as well as collaborative partnerships with Mexican border states. For additional information about CSG-WEST, please visit .